weekend.

Finally some sun! after the week of wind and rain, today’s been a nice break. I sat outside with some of the other interns this afternoon enjoying the weather. Our house overlooks a marsh on one side, where there are lots of red-winged blackbirds. There are bluebird houses on the property too, but I haven’t seen any yet. At the back is the barn, and on the other side a small field where we have our own garden. I haven’t decided yet whether to plant anything there since we’ll be eating from the CSA garden anyway, but I have all kinds of beans I got at seedy saturday, which I want to try out for drying. We’ll see how much energy I have left once the season gets busier!

Also, in case folks don’t know what a CSA farm is…people buy shares from us at the beginning of the season, so they pay us up front, and then they get a box of produce each week starting in June. The contents of the box are dependent on what’s ripe and in season, so people get everything at its freshest and it encourages them to eat seasonally. The farm is able to use the money right away to order seeds for the CSA garden and can start planning things out early. Everybody wins!

I’m on greenhouse duty this weekend, so I’ve been popping over to take care of the seedlings. It’s about a few minutes’ bike ride from the house. These are some of the cabbages that are growing. Hopefully the weather will stay nice for the coming week so we can start planting some in the ground!

About tino

I'm an aspiring organic farmer living in canada. I talk about farm life, things I'm learning, other relevant topics like feminism, social & environmental justice, nature, animals, vegan food, and fun.

Posted on April 30, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Hi Marsy,

    pictures are very pretty! Forgot to tell you: I have some BEAN seeds from GREECE for you! I’ll give them to you this weekend xo

Leave a Reply

