having a field day

Hello blog-readers,

suddenly it’s July and I find myself so busy with farm work that I haven’t written anything about it until now!

I started a job at a new farm this spring in a supervisory role, which is exciting. Things have been going well and I’m learning a lot, as I expected to. We grow many of the vegetable crops I’m already familiar with, and some that are new to me, but the farm is run quite differently than any I’ve been at before. I always find it interesting to see how each farm does things, and this has definitely been a good learning experience so far. Brushing up on efficiency and becoming familiar with the small details are important parts of my position there, and I expect it to take the whole season before I really know it well, but things are going smoothly and I’m enjoying it of course.

Organic salad greens are relatively lucrative (and delicious). We grow many.GH

Most of my days are spent with the non-salad veggies, like this bok choi, in the field.choi

I’ve been toying with the idea of starting a second blog about vegan stuff, since it keeps appearing here on my farm blog, but have decided to keep including that content here since vegan life is, of course, food-related, and farming is obviously closely tied with that.

Being an organic farmer for me is in great part about choosing a path that’s not destructive, and that will take me (and those my work touches) in a positive direction; working closely with the land, with food, providing truly healthy food to others, caring for the land in a way that doesn’t deplete and deaden it. These are all parts of a collective evolution I hope we can make, one in which we adjust our priorities a little and take responsibility for the harm we do by seeking solutions.

Being vegan is also about an evolution to a more positive life. Eating lower on the food chain takes far less water, land, plant foods and fossil fuels (think about all the resources needed to feed and house a cow, and then kill them and distribute their body parts). Choosing a plant-based lifestyle allows me to look all animals directly in the eyes and acknowledge their animality, individuality, their capacity for joy, pain and friendship, just as we do with dogs or cats (because the same kinds of experiences and relationships exist for all of them). Instead of viewing their bodies as commodities or resources, which happens on small farms and large farms alike, I can find true respect for them as individuals who value their lives, and honour that. This awareness also brings me more consideration for human individuals and populations who are harmed by others, and how we can remedy that. Each meal I consume is a celebration; I feel nourished physically, as well as emotionally and spiritually, because I am living my values with every bite. I feel fortunate that I’m able to do so.

mealtime
Almost entirely organic and local! 100% vegan and delicious!

As you can see, the main theme here is evolution to a better way of living. This is present in my life as a farmer and my life as a vegan, and both are very important to me, so the focus here will still be on farming, and also on considerations for animals who are farmed. They’re all connected!

Towards a great collective evolution!
bobharper hand holding

About tino

I'm an aspiring organic farmer living in canada. I talk about farm life, things I'm learning, other relevant topics like feminism, social & environmental justice, nature, animals, vegan food, and fun.

Posted on July 31, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

